Our complaints performance

Your feedback is important in helping us put things right and meet your expectations of us.

We think transparency is important, so if something’s wrong we’ll do our best to put it right. Some things we can take care of in one working day, but others may take a little longer.

Here you can see the top causes of complaints and take a look at how we’re doing with making things right.

Top 5 causes of customer complaints

Billing 44.18% – Needing further information to understand your bill.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

We know that energy bills can be complicated, so we’ve used your feedback to make ours easier to understand. We’ve also improved the information on our website to help you out.

Payment 22.68% – Querying Direct Debit payments or payments regarding a prepayment meter.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

Our redesigned bills make it easier to understand our energy charges, and you can find out more about Direct Debit payments in our Help and Support area. Online customers can see their payment history and details, and we've launched a new app.

Metering 10.98% – Checking the information we hold about your meter or asking why one of our metering agents didn’t arrive when they said they would.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

Checking your meter is tracking your usage and working safely are some of the reasons we have to check it regularly. We’re working hard to make sure our agents turn up when they’re supposed to, and we’ll write to you if we haven’t been in a while – it needs to be done every two years.

Transfer 4.68% – Complaints relating to issues experienced when moving between suppliers.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

What we’re doing - We understand transferring between suppliers can be stressful if things go wrong. So we have undertaken a great deal of work to understand the issues within the end to end process, and identified improvements to make the experience better.

Debt 4.39% – Facing financial difficulty or struggling to pay bills.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

We work closely with National Debtline and Citizens Advice to help you if you’re finding it hard to pay bills. So if you’re struggling, just get in touch and we’ll be able to help.

We’re also rolling out Smart meters over the next 6 years. They send us your readings automatically, so you don’t have to do it yourself. Plus the smart energy display makes understanding your usage and spending easier. We’ll let you know when we’re installing in your area.

Complaints performance summary April - June 2018 open/close 

      April - June 2018
    Total complaints received 86,878
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,078
    Total complaints resolved* 91,578
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,190
    Resolved within 1 working day 41.64%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 90.61%
      January – March 2018
    Total complaints received 94,131
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,131
    Total complaints resolved* 96,906
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,194
    Resolved within 1 working day 40.49%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 92.01%
      October – December 2017
    Total complaints received 81,738
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,801
    Total complaints resolved* 93,965
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,070
    Resolved within 1 working day 40.13%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.76%
      July – September 2017
    Total complaints received 91,898
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,000
    Total complaints resolved* 106,942
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,328
    Resolved within 1 working day 44.62%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.48%
      April – June 2017
    Total complaints received 90,654
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,988
    Total complaints resolved* 101,931
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,235
    Resolved within 1 working day 45.73%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 90.26%
      January – March 2017
    Total complaints received 99,214
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,200
    Total complaints resolved* 108,727
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,411
    Resolved within 1 working day 48.99%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.77%
      October – December 2016
    Total complaints received 88,193
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,874
    Total complaints resolved* 100,983
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,146
    Resolved within 1 working day 49.66%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.59%
      July – September 2016
    Total complaints received 76,427
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,605
    Total complaints resolved* 95,209
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 1,999
    Resolved within 1 working day 46.69%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.61%
      April- June 2016
    Total complaints received 95,763
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,056
    Total complaints resolved* 115,886
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,488
    Resolved within 1 working day 47.72%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.28%
      January - March 2016
    Total complaints received 79,427
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,674
    Total complaints resolved* 94,911
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,000
    Resolved within 1 working day 39.12%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 86.17%
      October - December 2015
    Total complaints received 99,896
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,095
    Total complaints resolved* 107,305
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,250
    Resolved within 1 working day 62.6%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 91.7%
      July - September 2015
    Total complaints received 142,329
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,898
    Total complaints resolved* 157,589
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,209
    Resolved within 1 working day 69.4%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 94.8%
      April - June 2015
    Total complaints received 167,471
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 3,338
    Total complaints resolved* 175,788
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,504
    Resolved within 1 working day 74.4%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 95.0%
      January - March 2015
    Total complaints received 285,952
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,635
    Total complaints resolved* 288,206
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,679
    Resolved within 1 working day 88.45%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 97.48%
      October - December 2014
    Total complaints received 336,322
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,568
    Total complaints resolved* 346,186
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,761
    Resolved within 1 working day 88.53%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 97.44%
      July - September 2014
    Total complaints received 326,119
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,258
    Total complaints resolved* 341,946
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,561
    Resolved within 1 working day 84.95%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 97.19%
      April - June 2014
    Total complaints received 368,410
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,890
    Total complaints resolved* 399,424
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7,470
    Resolved within 1 working day 81.43%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 94.43%
      January - March 2014
    Total complaints received 450,178
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,303
    Total complaints resolved* 446,606
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 8,237
    Resolved within 1 working day 86.12%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 94.13%
      October – December 2013
    Total complaints received 440,126
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,013
    Total complaints resolved* 427,076
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7664
    Resolved within 1 working day 90.37%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 95.78%
      July – September 2013
    Total complaints received 372,776
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,867
    Total complaints resolved* 366,386
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,749
    Resolved within 1 working day 88.83%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 96.57%
      April – June 2013
    Total complaints received 301,119
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,626
    Total complaints resolved* 298,701
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,581
    Resolved within 1 working day 86.58%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 96.67%
      January – March 2013
    Total complaints received 269,629
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,918
    Total complaints resolved* 266,917
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 4,868
    Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 97.23%
      October – December 2012
    Total complaints received 222,356
    Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,001
    Total complaints resolved* 221,274
    Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,982
    Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
    Resolved within 8 weeks 97.54%

    *This figure includes complaints resolved in this quarter that we received in previous quarters.

Annual Complaints Report open/close 

In 2008 OFGEM - the electricity and gas regulator - introduced new complaint handling regulations. These regulations require us to publish an Annual Complaints Report.

2017
Between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017, we received 168,071 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents 2% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, debt and energy transfer.

2016
Between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016, we received 146,118 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers which we couldn’t resolve in the same day, or next working day. This represents less than 1.9% of all our customer contacts during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, energy transfer and debt.

2015
Between 1 October 2014 and 30 September 2015, we received 131,399 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers which we couldn’t resolve in the same day, or next working day. This represents less than 1.3% of all our customer contacts during this period. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction.

2014
Between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014, we received 199,448 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers, which we were not able to resolve by the end of the next working day. This is a 25% increase compared with the same period the previous year.

This represents less than 2% of all contacts received by npower during the same period.

However, the block graph below shows that overall, we are beginning to see an ongoing reduction in complaints unresolved by the end of the first working day after which the complaint was received.

2013
Between 1 October 2012 and 30 September 2013 , we received 159,034 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 2% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, energy transfer and debt. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction. You can see what actions we're taking by looking at our 'top 5 causes of customer complaints' which you can find towards the top of this page.

2012
Between 1 October 2011 and 30 September 2012, we received 104,290 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2011
Between 1 October 2010 and 30 September 2011, we received 121,753 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents just 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2010
Between 1 October 2009 and 30 September 2010, we received 109,207 complaints from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received. This represents less than 1% of all contacts received during this period.

2009
During 2008 OFGEM introduced new complaint handling standards which npower fully embraced by introducing a new complaints system, extensive re-training of our Customer Services and Support departments, and new procedures.  Recent findings of Ofgems audit has confirmed that npower is compliant with the new standards.

In the first year since the introduction of the regulations in October 2008 and the end of September 2009 we have received 137,739 complaints from Domestic customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received.  This represents 1% of all contacts received during this period.