Top 5 causes of customer complaints

  1. Billing and Meter Reading 45%
  2. Needing further information to understand your bill. We know that energy bills can be complicated, so we’ve used your feedback to make ours easier to understand. We’ve also improved the information on our website to help you out.

  3. Customer Service 23%
  4. We want to get it right first time. We understand it’s important to provide the best level of service to our customers and we review our ways of working to find ways to meet our customer’s needs. Don’t forget you can register for an online account to help manage your queries.

  5. Payment 11%
  6. Querying Direct Debit payments or payments regarding a prepayment meter. Our redesigned bills make it easier to understand our energy charges, and you can find out more about Direct Debit payments in our Help and Support area. Online customers can see their payment history and details, and we've launched a new app.

  7. Metering 8%
  8. Checking the information we hold about your meter. Checking your meter is tracking your usage and working safely are some of the reasons we have to visit you as well as installing Smart meters. We’re working hard to ensure we have all the right information and equipment needed when we visit.

  9. Transfer 5%
  10. Complaints relating to issues experienced when moving between suppliers. What we’re doing - We understand transferring between suppliers can be stressful if things go wrong. So we have undertaken a great deal of work to understand the issues within the end to end process, and identified improvements to make the experience better.

Putting things right (PDF, 136KB)

October – December 2018
Total complaints received 93,459
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,395
Total complaints resolved* 85,691
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,196
Resolved within 1 working day 49%
Resolved within 8 weeks 88%
July – September 2018
Total complaints received 89,989
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,208
Total complaints resolved* 81,522
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,000
Resolved within 1 working day 49%
Resolved within 8 weeks 88%
April - June 2018
Total complaints received 86,878
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,078
Total complaints resolved* 91,578
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,190
Resolved within 1 working day 41.64%
Resolved within 8 weeks 90.61%
January – March 2018
Total complaints received 94,131
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,131
Total complaints resolved* 96,906
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,194
Resolved within 1 working day 40.49%
Resolved within 8 weeks 92.01%
October – December 2017
Total complaints received 81,738
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,801
Total complaints resolved* 93,965
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,070
Resolved within 1 working day 40.13%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.76%
July – September 2017
Total complaints received 91,898
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,000
Total complaints resolved* 106,942
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,328
Resolved within 1 working day 44.62%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.48%
April – June 2017
Total complaints received 90,654
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,988
Total complaints resolved* 101,931
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,235
Resolved within 1 working day 45.73%
Resolved within 8 weeks 90.26%
January – March 2017
Total complaints received 99,214
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,200
Total complaints resolved* 108,727
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,411
Resolved within 1 working day 48.99%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.77%
October – December 2016
Total complaints received 88,193
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,874
Total complaints resolved* 100,983
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,146
Resolved within 1 working day 49.66%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.59%
July – September 2016
Total complaints received 76,427
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,605
Total complaints resolved* 95,209
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 1,999
Resolved within 1 working day 46.69%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.61%
April- June 2016
Total complaints received 95,763
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,056
Total complaints resolved* 115,886
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,488
Resolved within 1 working day 47.72%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.28%
January - March 2016
Total complaints received 79,427
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 1,674
Total complaints resolved* 94,911
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,000
Resolved within 1 working day 39.12%
Resolved within 8 weeks 86.17%
October - December 2015
Total complaints received 99,896
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,095
Total complaints resolved* 107,305
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,250
Resolved within 1 working day 62.6%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.7%
July - September 2015
Total complaints received 142,329
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,898
Total complaints resolved* 157,589
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,209
Resolved within 1 working day 69.4%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.8%
April - June 2015
Total complaints received 167,471
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 3,338
Total complaints resolved* 175,788
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,504
Resolved within 1 working day 74.4%
Resolved within 8 weeks 95.0%
January - March 2015
Total complaints received 285,952
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,635
Total complaints resolved* 288,206
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,679
Resolved within 1 working day 88.45%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.48%
October - December 2014
Total complaints received 336,322
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,568
Total complaints resolved* 346,186
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,761
Resolved within 1 working day 88.53%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.44%
July - September 2014
Total complaints received 326,119
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,258
Total complaints resolved* 341,946
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,561
Resolved within 1 working day 84.95%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.19%
April - June 2014
Total complaints received 368,410
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,890
Total complaints resolved* 399,424
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7,470
Resolved within 1 working day 81.43%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.43%
January - March 2014
Total complaints received 450,178
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,303
Total complaints resolved* 446,606
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 8,237
Resolved within 1 working day 86.12%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.13%
October – December 2013
Total complaints received 440,126
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,013
Total complaints resolved* 427,076
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7,664
Resolved within 1 working day 90.37%
Resolved within 8 weeks 95.78%
July – September 2013
Total complaints received 372,776
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,867
Total complaints resolved* 366,386
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,749
Resolved within 1 working day 88.83%
Resolved within 8 weeks 96.57%
April – June 2013
Total complaints received 301,119
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,626
Total complaints resolved* 298,701
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,581
Resolved within 1 working day 86.58%
Resolved within 8 weeks 96.67%
January – March 2013
Total complaints received 269,629
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,918
Total complaints resolved* 266,917
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 4,868
Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.23%
October – December 2012
Total complaints received 222,356
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,001
Total complaints resolved* 221,274
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,982
Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.54%
*This figure includes complaints resolved in this quarter that we received in previous quarters.

More in this section 

Making a complaint Annual complaints report
Elderly gentleman on the phone

Need more help?