Annual complaints report

If things go wrong for you, we want to put them right. And that’s why we have a straight forward complaints procedure that’s easy to follow.

Between 1 October 2017 and 30 September 2018, we received 214,439 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or next working day after receipt. This represents around 3% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing & meter reading, customer service, energy transfer, debt and metering. We’re working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction. You can see what actions we’re taking by looking at our ‘top 5 causes of customer complaints’.

We’re working hard to improve on areas which can cause dissatisfaction, and you can see how we’re doing by looking at our 'top 5 causes of customer complaints'.

Residential customers

We’ve set out our complaints procedure in our 'Putting things right. (PDF, 136KB)'. . If you need a hard copy of this, or an annual report, just get in touch. We also have large print and Braille copies available.

And you can find out more about our complaints handling standards in The Gas and Electricity (Consumer Complaints Handling Standards) Regulations 2008. If you’d like a hard copy, please contact The Stationery Office on 0870 600 55 22 view call charge information

Annual Complaints Report Archive open/close 

In 2008 OFGEM - the electricity and gas regulator - introduced new complaint handling regulations. These regulations require us to publish an Annual Complaints Report.

2017
Between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017, we received 168,071 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents 2% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, debt and energy transfer.

2016
Between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016, we received 146,118 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers which we couldn’t resolve in the same day, or next working day. This represents less than 1.9% of all our customer contacts during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, energy transfer and debt.

2015
Between 1 October 2014 and 30 September 2015, we received 131,399 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers which we couldn’t resolve in the same day, or next working day. This represents less than 1.3% of all our customer contacts during this period. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction.

2014
Between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014, we received 199,448 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers, which we were not able to resolve by the end of the next working day. This is a 25% increase compared with the same period the previous year.

This represents less than 2% of all contacts received by npower during the same period.

However, the block graph below shows that overall, we are beginning to see an ongoing reduction in complaints unresolved by the end of the first working day after which the complaint was received.

2013
Between 1 October 2012 and 30 September 2013 , we received 159,034 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 2% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, energy transfer and debt. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction. You can see what actions we're taking by looking at our 'top 5 causes of customer complaints' which you can find towards the top of this page.

2012
Between 1 October 2011 and 30 September 2012, we received 104,290 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2011
Between 1 October 2010 and 30 September 2011, we received 121,753 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents just 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2010
Between 1 October 2009 and 30 September 2010, we received 109,207 complaints from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received. This represents less than 1% of all contacts received during this period.

2009
During 2008 OFGEM introduced new complaint handling standards which npower fully embraced by introducing a new complaints system, extensive re-training of our Customer Services and Support departments, and new procedures.  Recent findings of Ofgems audit has confirmed that npower is compliant with the new standards.

In the first year since the introduction of the regulations in October 2008 and the end of September 2009 we have received 137,739 complaints from Domestic customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received.  This represents 1% of all contacts received during this period.