Our complaints performance

Your feedback is important in helping us put things right and meet your expectations of us.

We think transparency is important, so if something’s wrong we’ll do our best to put it right. Some things we can take care of in one working day, but others may take a little longer.

Here you can see the top causes of complaints and take a look at how we’re doing with making things right.

Top 5 causes of customer complaints

Billing 41% – Needing further information to understand your bill.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

We know that energy bills can be complicated, so we’ve used your feedback to make ours easier to understand. We’ve also improved the information on our website to help you out.

Payment 14.5% – Querying Direct Debit payments or payments regarding a prepayment meter.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

Our redesigned bills make it easier to understand our energy charges, and you can find out more about Direct Debit payments in our Help and Support area. Online customers can see their payment history and details, and we've launched a new app.

Debt 12% – Facing financial difficulty or struggling to pay bills.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

We work closely with National Debtline and Citizens Advice to help you if you’re finding it hard to pay bills. So if you’re struggling, just get in touch and we’ll be able to help.

Metering 8.9% – Checking the information we hold about your meter or asking why one of our metering agents didn’t arrive when they said they would.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

Checking your meter is tracking your usage and working safely are some of the reasons we have to check it regularly. We’re working hard to make sure our agents turn up when they’re supposed to, and we’ll write to you if we haven’t been in a while – it needs to be done every two years.

We’re also rolling out Smart meters over the next 6 years. They send us your readings automatically, so you don’t have to do it yourself. Plus the smart energy display makes understanding your usage and spending easier. We’ll let you know when we’re installing in your area.

Complaint management 7.7% – Complaints relating to how an existing complaint is being handled.
+ Here’s what we’re doing

We’ve improved the way we handle complaints and the way we resolve them, so we can understand your concerns and agree a resolution as quickly as possible. While good progress has been made, we fully recognise that we still have lots to do.

Complaints performance summary October - December 2015open/close

  • COMPLAINTS RECEIVED
    99,896
  • RESOLVED WITHIN 1 DAY
    66,850
  • UNRESOLVED WITHIN 1 DAY
    33,046
  October - December 2015
Total complaints received 99,896
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,095
Total complaints resolved* 107,305
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 2,250
Resolved within 1 working day 62.6%
Resolved within 8 weeks 91.7%
  July - September 2015
Total complaints received 142,329
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 2,898
Total complaints resolved* 157,589
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,209
Resolved within 1 working day 69.4%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.8%
  April - June 2015
Total complaints received 167,471
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 3,338
Total complaints resolved* 175,788
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,504
Resolved within 1 working day 74.4%
Resolved within 8 weeks 95.0%
  January - March 2015
Total complaints received 285,952
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,635
Total complaints resolved* 288,206
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,679
Resolved within 1 working day 88.45%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.48%
  October - December 2014
Total complaints received 336,322
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,568
Total complaints resolved* 346,186
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,761
Resolved within 1 working day 88.53%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.44%
  July - September 2014
Total complaints received 326,119
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,258
Total complaints resolved* 341,946
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,561
Resolved within 1 working day 84.95%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.19%
  April - June 2014
Total complaints received 368,410
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,890
Total complaints resolved* 399,424
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7,470
Resolved within 1 working day 81.43%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.43%
  January - March 2014
Total complaints received 450,178
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,303
Total complaints resolved* 446,606
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 8,237
Resolved within 1 working day 86.12%
Resolved within 8 weeks 94.13%
  October – December 2013
Total complaints received 440,126
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 8,013
Total complaints resolved* 427,076
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 7664
Resolved within 1 working day 90.37%
Resolved within 8 weeks 95.78%
  July – September 2013
Total complaints received 372,776
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 6,867
Total complaints resolved* 366,386
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 6,749
Resolved within 1 working day 88.83%
Resolved within 8 weeks 96.57%
  April – June 2013
Total complaints received 301,119
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 5,626
Total complaints resolved* 298,701
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 5,581
Resolved within 1 working day 86.58%
Resolved within 8 weeks 96.67%
  January – March 2013
Total complaints received 269,629
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,918
Total complaints resolved* 266,917
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 4,868
Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.23%
  October – December 2012
Total complaints received 222,356
Complaints received per 100,000 customers 4,001
Total complaints resolved* 221,274
Complaints resolved per 100,000 customers 3,982
Resolved within 1 working day 87.40%
Resolved within 8 weeks 97.54%

*This figure includes complaints resolved in this quarter that we received in previous quarters.

Annual Complaints Report open/close

In 2008 OFGEM - the electricity and gas regulator - introduced new complaint handling regulations. These regulations require us to publish an Annual Complaints Report.

2015
Between 1 October 2014 and 30 September 2015, we received 131,399 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This is a 34% decrease compared with the same period the previous year, representing less than 1.5% of all customer contacts received during this period.

Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, complaint management and debt. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction.

2014
Between 1 October 2013 and 30 September 2014, we received 199,448 expressions of dissatisfaction from our residential customers, which we were not able to resolve by the end of the next working day. This is a 25% increase compared with the same period the previous year.

This represents less than 2% of all contacts received by npower during the same period.

However, the block graph below shows that overall, we are beginning to see an ongoing reduction in complaints unresolved by the end of the first working day after which the complaint was received.

2013
Between 1 October 2012 and 30 September 2013 , we received 159,034 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 2% of all customer contacts received during this period. Most of our customer complaints were due to billing, payments, metering, energy transfer and debt. We're working hard to improve areas of our business which can cause customer dissatisfaction. You can see what actions we're taking by looking at our 'top 5 causes of customer complaints' which you can find towards the top of this page.

2012
Between 1 October 2011 and 30 September 2012, we received 104,290 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents less than 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2011
Between 1 October 2010 and 30 September 2011, we received 121,753 expressions of dissatisfaction from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after receipt. This represents just 1% of all customer contacts received during this period.

2010
Between 1 October 2009 and 30 September 2010, we received 109,207 complaints from residential customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received. This represents less than 1% of all contacts received during this period.

2009
During 2008 OFGEM introduced new complaint handling standards which npower fully embraced by introducing a new complaints system, extensive re-training of our Customer Services and Support departments, and new procedures.  Recent findings of Ofgems audit has confirmed that npower is compliant with the new standards.

In the first year since the introduction of the regulations in October 2008 and the end of September 2009 we have received 137,739 complaints from Domestic customers which could not be resolved on the same day or the next working day after the complaint was received.  This represents 1% of all contacts received during this period.